THE government has issued a travel ban from Sabah to Peninsular Malaysia, Sarawak and Labuan from tomorrow until Oct 20 following the surge in COVID-19 cases, said Senior Minister (Security) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob (picture).

“However, special exemptions will be given to certain cases involving emergency, death, essential services and others that will require permission from the Ministry of Health (MOH).

“Those who have received permission must undergo COVID-19 screening by the MOH upon arrival at the entry points of their destinations,” he said in a statement on the Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO) today.

As for entry into Sabah, he said that permission would be given to several categories, namely Sabahans holding the H code in their MyKad and spouses of Sabahans holding valid Malaysian Immigration passes issued by the Malaysian Immigration Department of Sabah or have proof of marriage and birth certificate.